Rap Music does not define Black culture

Ok This is going to be another controversial blog so, I am sorry that you are offended by this article.

I was reading this article by Veronica Bayetti Flores. She was talking about this singer name Lorde who sing this song called “Royals” . You probably heard this song. Veronica doesn’t have to like the song but she called the song racist. You may be wondering why she called the song racist.

But every song’s like gold teeth, grey goose, trippin’ in the bathroom.
Blood stains, ball gowns, trashin’ the hotel room,
We don’t care, we’re driving Cadillacs in our dreams.
But everybody’s like Cristal, Maybach, diamonds on your time piece.
Jet planes, islands, tigers on a gold leash
We don’t care, we aren’t caught up in your love affair

She thinks she is being racist because she mentions gold teeth and, probably because she also mentioned tripping in the bathroom. Now I understand why she came up with that impression because most rappers where gold teeth, and most rappers are Black but it seems like in her article she made it seem like Gold teeth = black people.

I am black and, I am not offended by Lorde’s song at all but i am offended by this article and, here’s why?

“Because we all know who she’s thinking when we’re talking gold teeth, Cristal and Maybachs. So why shit on black folks? Why shit on rappers? Why aren’t we critiquing wealth by taking hits at golf or polo or Central Park East?”

Well I know who you are thinking about Ms. Veronica. I know for a fact you are thinking about black folks. To be honest, Lorde was probably thinking about black folks. But it is not her fault and it is not black peoples fault. It is the media’s fault. That is how the media portrays us (blacks). I never met a black person who wears gold teeth. I have seen black people on TV, and I also seen people of other races on TV wear gold teeth but in real life, never. Gold teeth is a stereotype.

Lorde is right to criticize pop music culture, and mainstream hip-hop culture. She is sharing her opinion, that I happen to agree with.

It does seem today that mainstream music is about the things she mentions. It is true. Is she saying that it is bad to wear gold teeth or drive Cadillac. No, but how did Veronica get the idea that owning a Cadillac=Black people.  I wish I owned an Cadillac but I don’t. How does diamonds=Black people. Well I did hear that diamonds came from Africa. But really though, rappers portray those things and, now when people think of these things, Veronica thinks Black people must own those things and, they also must trip in the bathroom.

Like I said I am more offended by this article and, one of the response comments. I am baffled. Really baffled. Veronica is accusing Lorde’s song to be racist, while her article seems more racist to me. Or should I say prejudice. She assumes that all black people wear gold teeth, all black people drive a Cadillac’s. If you want to know what black music really is besides gold teeth, I write about that later. If you want to know what Black Culture is, I would write a blog about that too.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

