High School is Tough: People Judging You

I graduated from high school two years ago. I was so glad when I graduated because I hated school. Not because I hated the classes. Not because I hated to learn, and not because I hated the work. It was because I couldn’t handle the judgements of other people. You try to be yourself but there were people who still judge you. It made me feel awkward and uncomfortable. I was miserable. I felt that people were talking about me behind my back and I thought they hated me. Some of it was in my head but some of it was actually happening.

It’s funny because in the early years of elementary school, I loved it. It was nice to be with kids my age. Especially, with me being the only child.  As I grew up kids became so judgmental. We start to judge people base on the way they look, their weight, skin color, and even gender. We also judge other for just being themselves. Why? I’m not sure exactly why. Maybe it’s natural for we as human beings to do so. Maybe we learn it from from our parents and others. The fear of being judge of others, it stopped me from being speak up, and express what I believe.

So what if I wear that seems to big. That doesn’t give you the right to judge me. Maybe that is all that I can afford. You don’t know what other people going through.

Unfortunately, the judging does not stop at high school but what can change is how you feel about yourself. In a world full of intolerant people, you have to learn to love yourself, and accept yourself. If you judge others before you get to know them. Try to stop it.

At the end of the day, you can’t control what others thing of you, but you can control what you think of yourself.

4 thoughts on “High School is Tough: People Judging You

  1. I think you’re making a very important opinion here. I’m at the peak of all of the judging, which is middle school. It is insane the assumptions one person can make about a kid because of a misplaced piece of hair, an unbuckled belt, or a weird pair of shoes. I think a lot more people need to be aware of this.

    -Kyle

    • Oh yeah. I forgot to mention middle school. That is where it all starts. Actually it started around 4th or fifth grade. In my experience.Thanks for reading.

      • In my experience, it actually started in first grade, when the worst thing to say is “You’re stupid!” but it’s still bullying.

        No need to thank me. Thank you for posting this.

Leave a Reply

